Archive for October 13, 2008

Double digits?

Hello my dear readers!  

Lots has happened in the last week since I posted last.  I know that was terrible grammar, but that is how I feel right now.  Blogging is the last thing I should be doing right now, but I am looking at it as a type of therapy.  Either that or a warm up for all of the writing I have to do in the next two days!  

22 whether you like it or not!  

Let’s start off with the important event of the past week:  my birthday.  🙂  Yesterday I turned 22.  22 years I have been on this earth.  22 years of breathing.  22 years of learning.  22 years of growing.  and 22 years of worship.  It’s crazy to think about it, really.  But what is even crazier, is that I am looking for a real job.  But I will get to that in a minute.  

Friday was my “weekday” birthday.  On Friday I received flowers from my family.  They were GORGEOUS!   🙂   I also received a shower of birthday cards!!  I got one from each of my bosses, one from the rents, one from buckle, and TWO from my grandma!!  TWO!  How awesome is that?!  She is great.  It was a great day, and I really felt loved and appreciated.  

On Saturday, I hopped in a car with some women I love and rode down to Emory to use their library.  It was great spending time with every single one of them.  And lunch at Everybody’s Pizza with the crew was perfect.  After spending a couple of hours in Pitt’s Theological Library, we hit up Steak ‘n Shake to get me a milkshake!  mmmmmmm.   It was goooood.  haha.  

Sunday was lovely.  I woke up earlier than I had to and so I read a chapter in my new book, Gifted to Lead: The Art of Leading as a Woman in the Church by Nancy Beach.  It was phenomenal.  And yes, I bought a book for my birthday.  It actually makes me incredibly happy.  🙂     Then, my roommate made waffles for breakfast! YUM!!!  [funny birthday story:  My mom called me when she got up and her and my dad sang to me!  Ok, that is not the funny part.  After they sang, my mom was talking to me and said something along the lines of, “You’re in the double digits now.”   I should have said so many funny things, but I was so thrown off, I simply said nothing.  :)]    Then it was off to church.  Church was good, and I sat by some pretty cool people.  🙂  Then I went to Olive Garden for lunch, and it was fantastic –both the food and the company!!!  I should also mention that they sang to me…..lol.   After a quick stop at the mall to pick up a little something, it was home for nap time!    Before I knew it, it was time for dinner!!   Chili’s was great!  Although, my stomach didn’t agree with the salsa I ate . . . oh well!  When they brought out the ice cream, they don’t sing, so one of my dear friends stood up and got everyone’s attention and they all sang to me!  It was hilarious.   Then it was off to play Nertz!!   It was a lot of fun, even though, I didn’t win!  …  I know!  lol.   All in all it was a great, relaxing, fun day!   Thank you to all who helped make it that way!   I loved all of the cards, phone calls, text messages, and facebook messages!!!   

 

Ok, onto not so fun topics.  

First, I want to mention that I have been working on my resume, looking for a real job.  I cannot describe the feeling to you, but I will attempt to.  I am growing up — soon there will be no more college, no more procrastination, no more papers, no more  mom sending me money, no more lazy (I do work hard, when there is work to do, fyi.) student worker jobs, etc.   There will be more bills to pay, tougher decisions to make, etc.  I think what scares me the most is the fact that I can do anything I want after December 13.  I think they call it freedom, but it scares me to death sometimes.  I will not have the next four months of my life planned out a week into the semester.  In fact, I will not even have a semester to plan.  I have to make my own plan.  College will be done.  Do you understand the way I am feeling yet?  

I am really praying about it, and I have some ideas about my future, but that does not make it any less frightening.  

 

Ok, it’s time for me to focus.  Warm-up/therapy time is over now.  

Love you all,

Katie